Senator Smart Adeyemi of the of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has won the Kogi West senatorial district election rerurn

Professor Olajide Lawal, the Returning Officer of the election, announced this on Saturday at the collation centre in Kogi State.

According to Olajide, APC Senator Adeyemi polled 88,373 votes to beat Senator Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 62,133 votes.

Ambassador Rufus Aiyenigba of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) came third in the poll with 659 votes and was trailed by John Olabode and Adeyemi Taiwo of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) and Nigeria Elements Progressive Party (NEPP who) garnered 262 and 119 votes respectively.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) therefore declared Smart Adeyemi of the APC as the winner of the keenly contested election after the rerun of the senatorial poll.

Recall that the previous election conducted by the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) on November 16 was declared inconclusive due to violence and killings that characterized the exercise.

Prior to the completion of collation of results, the Peoples Democratic Party Candidate, senator Dino Melaye has said he would approach the Election Petition Tribunal if the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) does not review the result of election held on November 16th.

Sharing is caring!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here