The Ondo State House of assembly on Friday 28th June confirmed Seventeen out of the eighteen interim chairmen for local governments sent to the house by Governor Rotimi Akeredolu.

However the lawmakers refused to confirm the nominee for Odigbo local government, Mrs Margaret Akinsuroju for undisclosed  reasons, and referred her for further scrutiny.Mrs Magaret Akinsuroju, was the Commissioner for Women affairs under the administration of late former governor Olusegun Agagu.

The lawmakers at a plenary presided over by the speaker, Rt. Hon Bamidele Oleyelogun after screening the nominees confirmed their eligibility to serve the people of the state.

The Speaker, Oleyelogun after the House Selection Committee submitted their report noted that the confirmation of the interim chairmen became imperative in order to avoid vacuum in the local govt administration in the state.

The interim chairmen are expected to spend six months in office.

Some of the interim chairmen described the screening process as thorough and assured of people oriented projects for the development of their council areas.

The Interim Chairman Akure South Local Government Barr. Gbenga Olaniyi thanked Mr. Governor and members of the State House of Assembly for considering them worthy of reappointment. He promised the residents of Akure south local government an open administration and more developmental projects in the local government.

Views 183 total views

Sharing is caring!

Please support our Press with your Generous Donation- Account name- Ebony Herald Publishers Acct no: 0038227281 Bank: Union Bank of Nigeria Plc. God bless you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here