The Ijaw nation in South-south Nigeria came together at the weekend in Port-Harcourt, Rivers State to honour their sons and daughters who has contributed to the development of the Ijaw nation across the world.
The awards came under the auspices of the Ijaw Republican Assembly (Patriotic Front), and the Ijaw Media Action Initiative. It was tagged “Heroes of Ijaw Nation-Scions to Icons”.
Amongst those that were honoured is former President Goodluck Jonathan, who was given “Ijaw man for all season” award. Also honoured is the Ikoli family. The late Chief Ernest Ikoli, one of the foremost Nigerian nationalist and the first Nigerian editor of Daily Times got a post humous award, while the grandson, Chief Anthony George Ikoli SAN, the first Senior Advocate of Nigeria from Bayelsa State also got the Ijaw merit award.
Others include Prof Charles Quaker Dokubo(Ijaw man of the year 2018.), Chief Edwin Clerk, King Alfred Diete Spiff, Prof Ebiegberi Alagoa, Justice Karibi Whyte, King D.M.J Fubara, Alabo T.O Graham Douglas, and Ambassador Nne Kurubo, Supreme Court Justice Francis Tabai, and coach Monday Sinclair, all got Ijaw lifetime awards.
Ijaw heroes of the past were also not forgotten as the got post humous awards. They include Chief Eyo Ita, Major Isaac Jasper Adaka Boro, Cardinal Rex Jim Lawson, Prof Tekena Tamuno, D.S.P Alamieyeisigha, and many others.
Those that made Ijaw excellence award category include Odein Ajumogobia SAN, Atedo Peterside, Prof Kimse Okoko, Prof Nimi Briggs, Amaopusenibo Bobo Sofiri, Timi Alaibe, Owei Lakemfa, Dakuku Peterside, and many others

Views 220 total views

Sharing is caring!

Please support our Press with your Generous Donation- Account name- Ebony Herald Publishers Acct no: 0038227281 Bank: Union Bank of Nigeria Plc. God bless you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here